Book Review: SHHH! I’m Sleeping, by Dorothee de Monfreid

This is another wonderful book from Gecko Press.cv_shh_im_sleeping

There are two tall bunks sleeping four in each one. Popov is asleep, but his snoring wakes everybody up. Nono wants Misha to read a story, Pedro wants to borrow one of Nono’s toys, Zaza wants to sleep in Pedro’s bed and so it goes on until Popov wakes up in the morning and wonders where everybody is.

This book so reminds me of the years of small children finding excuses once in bed to drag out bedtime. I read this to Quinn, who at 15 months and has a limited vocabulary, but wanted to find out what happened next, turning the pages and laughing at the characters and their antics.

I love this book and think it will bring a lot of fun and laughter to both reader and small child.

Reviewed by Christine Frayling

SHHH! I’m Sleeping
by Dorothee de Monfreid
Published by Gecko Press
ISBN 9781927271957

Ed’s Note: This book reminded me of every school camp ever, where there is a constant hiss of ‘shh’ and negotiations of bed space.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.