Book Review: Catch That Plane! By Sally Sutton, illustrated by Sylvie Currin Korankova

Available in bookstores nationwide. 

Catch That Plane! is a picture book that combines a rhythmic text-style with high energcv_catch_that_planey illustrations to create a fun book that has been enjoyed by every child I have shared it with.

The book follows the journey of a family who are heading to the airport to catch a plane – and they’re late. The text is filled with wonderful descriptive words that create a sense of urgency: chasing, hustling, dashing, flurry, puffing, scooting. Fans of Margaret Mahy and Lynley Dodd will appreciate the rich language.

The illustrations are just lovely. Initially they look very simple, but they cleverly catch the wide range of emotions and situations you might see at an airport, and again, that sense of urgency is everywhere with subtle line emphasis. Each picture is worth closer examination – while the main family are getting swiped and scanned through security, at a distant desk an officer frowns while examining a bag, while the passenger radiates frustration and impatience.

The children in my class of 5-year-olds who enjoyed the book the most remembered their own trips, particularly if they had travelled recently overseas, because they remembered the bio-security beagles. They loved being able to relate their own experiences to the book and share what they knew. I can also envisage Catch That Plane! working really well as a pre-travel primer for children who haven’t experienced air travel before, to give them a sense of all the things that will happen before and after they board their plane.

My favourite 2- and 4-year-old boys also enjoyed the book; Mr 4 was all eyes as we read through the story, taking it in, while Mr 2 loved the pictures, pointing to things he wanted to know more about. For the child who is really into the story and wants to know more, there’s a great child-friendly glossary at the end of the story.

Highly recommended as a read-aloud book for 2 – 7 year olds.

Reviewed by Rachel Moore

Catch That Plane!
by Sally Sutton, illustrated by Sylvie Currin Korankova
Published by Walker Books AU
ISBN 9781921720680

1 thought on “Book Review: Catch That Plane! By Sally Sutton, illustrated by Sylvie Currin Korankova

  1. What i do not understood is in reality how you are not really a lot more smartly-favored than you may be now.
    You’re very intelligent. You know therefore considerably in the case of this matter,
    produced me in my opinion imagine it from numerous varied angles.
    Its like men and women aren’t involved except it is something to do with Lady gaga!
    Your own stuffs excellent. All the time care for it up!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.