Book review: Finders Keepers by Russ Colchamiro

Finders Keepers is a humorous Sci-Fi novel which places the reader in New Zealand, Europe and the highest levels of the Universe (aptly named Eternity). We follow the story of American Jason Medley and New Zealander Theo Barnes as they backpack their way across Europe while unkowingly being persued by ex-Galaxy designers who are determined to reacquire a lost jar containing a portion of the Universe’s DNA (aka Cosmic Building Material).

Sounds confusing?

Don’t worry. Author Russ Colchamiro cleverly ties all the plot threads together in his debut novel. The story bounces between characters, countries, dimensions and time. Fans of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and 2000 AD Futureshocks will be instantly familiar with the genre that the book fits into. The chapters are short and remind me of a graphic novel’s pacing.

The book is an enjoyable and funny read from an author who is obviously brimming with ideas.

Reviewed by Jonathan Shine of Scorpio Books, Christchurch.

Finders Keepers
by Russ Colchamiro
Published by Three Fingers Press
ISBN 9780979480171

Advertisements