Words of the Day: Tuesday, 29 April

words_of_the_day_graphic

This is a digest of our Twitter feed that we email out most Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays. This mainly only goes by email now, please sign up here for free if you’d like to receive this.

Book Reviews
Book Review: A Winter’s Day in 1939, by Melinda Szymanik

Awards News/ Author interviews
Beagle alert! Des Hunt answers our Q & A about Project Huia, a #nzpcya finalist in the Junior fiction category

Giveaways
Are you a @lainitaylor fan? Enter our competition to win the first 2 books in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series

Book News  
A journey to a strange land – The 2014 London Book Fair, by Katie Haworth. Have we got any booktubers here in New Zealand? If you are one/ know some, can you email me at info@booksellers.co.nz?

Head down to one of these indies and register your kobo. They get money when you buy e-books!

The @ninetonoon review schedule for May is available now

I want to be in the room with the ABIA judges debating between The Luminaries & Diary of a Wimpy Kid...

The Book Show set for a redux with Beattie & Beu.

Upstart Announces New Novel from Author Greg McGee 

Around the Internet
One blogger decided to read around the world (all 196 countries) in a year! See her journey.

The power of free speech wins!

Books as art – musings from Mireille Silcoff at the @NewYorkTimes11

HG Wells interviewing Stalin in 1934

MOVIE NEWS! The new extended trailer for The Fault in Our Stars is now online

The Luminaries as a Sensation Sequel?

I posted the 1000th post on the booksellers blog today! Thank you to those who have contributed in the past, and those who continue to contribute. It is great fun to run the reviewing, and I must say I was grateful to have the backup when our website was on the rocks… I look forward to giving more great stuff in the future – keep an eye out for the next two weeks, as I have people in Dunedin and Auckland at the writer’s festivals (with I could go myself!)

-Sarah Forster

Words of the Day: Tuesday 4 March

words_of_the_day_graphic

Follow us on Twitter to get this news as it happens: https://twitter.com/BooksellersNZ

Book Reviews
The Secret of Magic is a book that will move you.’ A look into post-WW2 southern USA bigotry.

Here is the March book review schedule for Radio NZ @ninetonoon

Book Review: Charlotte and the Golden Promise, by Sandy McKay

Events
Elizabeth Knox and Kate De Goldi will be at the new Dunedin Writers & Readers Festival.

If Rime of the Ancient Mariner is on your @NZFestival shortlist, you better hurry – tickets are selling fast!

Giveaways
A 24-hour giveaway to a fab event: Writing a Life Less Ordinary next Tuesday at 3.15pm. Includes books!  

Monica Dux is coming! And she’s doing an event or two for Writer’s Week! Win tickets and books!

Book news
If you are a writer-event-enjoyer, but a bit skint, here is your solution: free events!

We are now calling for registrations for National Poetry Day 2014. Plan ahead!

@thebookseller reviews the state of New Zealand publishing

Random House NZ have a brand new community for crime and thriller fans! Head over to http://www.randomhouse.co.nz/crime and check it out.

Booksellers NZ’s Preview of Reviews, Monday 3 March

Congratulations to those who have received funding through the NZSA/Auckland Museum research grants
 
Around the Internet
Award-Winning Authors Struggling to Make Ends Meet: Writing for The Guardian, Robert McCrum…

Helen Rickerby is Tuesday Poem editor this week, and is delighted to share three treats from Bird Murder by Stefanie Lash

Here’s a book title that obviously wasn’t conceived in NZ: 1080 recipes. Possum stew, anyone?

VUP newsletter online now for those who don’t subscribe. Includes Lamplighter and Horse with Hat giveaways.

Thanks everybody – enjoy your evenings.

NB: We are having continuous problems with our site currently, so if you are unable to use any of these links, there is a good chance that they are correct, but the site has gone down. Our hosts are carrying on working on the problem, and we hope to be back to our reliable selves ASAP.

Words of the Day, Wednesday 26 February 2014

words_of_the_day_graphic

Book Review
Unpacking the Kists: The Scots in New Zealand, by Brad Patterson, Tom Brooking and Jim McAloon

Book Events
Don’t miss Jen Hadfield tomorrow at Unity Books Wellington – when she reads her poems, they stay read.

NZ Festival review: The Bookbinder is an absorbing and imaginative 45-minute piece of storytelling theatre.

Giveaways
Francis Spufford has written about Marxism, British engineering, the importance of reading & christianity…be in to win tickets

Gecko Press has tickets to Jack Lasenby at the @NZfestival to give away for the biggest liar!

Jobs
Don’t forget to get your applications in for the Publishing Assistant job at @scholasticnz !

Book News
Are you an expert in old books? Head to this conference

Well done Ben Sanders / Macmillan for selling his fourth book to Hollywood!

International Association of Culinary Professionals Announces 2014 Food Writing Finalists

Emily Mayhew, @Andrew_Solomon and Sarah Wise are shortlisted for the 2014 @wellcomebkprize!

Around the Internet
Closed for Reading: Manawatu’s Longburn School shuts its doors for 20 minutes a day so students can read with adults!

@StephenStra talks about chairing (and the importance of preparing)

10 facts only ‘Lord of the Rings’ super fans would know

How good writers break the rules (and make it work)

Now we have a chance to listen to beloved authors long gone || Listen to 15 Literary Icons Reading Their Own Work

The Read: Words of the Day, Wednesday, 19 February 2014

words_of_the_day_graphicWe publish this news first on our Twitter account: www.twitter.com/booksellersnz
Feedback gratefully received by return email.

To unsubscribe, return this email with the word ‘unsubscribe’ in the subject line

Book reviews
Another great review of Pacific Highways #NewZealand @BooksellersNZ

Book Review: Dolphins of Aotearoa, by Raewyn Peart

Interviews
A neat wee piece in The Age promoting Eleanor Catton’s appearance at @wheelercentre tomorrow evening

Get a taster of the @nzfestival event with Graeme Simison with this video interview

Carl Shuker talks to Raqi Syed in Turbine

New Titles
The Good Luck of Right Now, by Matthew Quick sounds intriguing.

Events
Hamilton Book Month! A great reason to go to Hamilton (like you needed an excuse)

Book News
A comic sci-fi novel in the vein of Douglas Adams and Jasper Fforde – sounds good. Support it here…

A few more details are up for @scholasticnz’s Publishing Assistant job

An excellent new Turbine out today

Kobo reports a fourth quarter surge @thebookseller

Around the Internet
When to give a kid your favourite titles from your childhood…

Genius: The Periodic Table of Storytelling

Literary Tourist Blog Archive: How authors can and cannot help Independent Bookstores

Words of the Day: Wednesday, 12 February

words_of_the_day_graphic

 

Follow us on Twitter to get this news as it happens: https://twitter.com/BooksellersNZ

Book reviews
Book Review: Everything I need to Know I Learned from a Little Golden Book, by Diane Muldrow

Book Review: A Short History of New Zealand, by Gordon McLauchlan

World Search: Amazing Jobs, by Lonely Planet

Upcoming books
..and NZ will have the 19th @LeeChildReacher novel, PERSONAL, in bookstores 29th August 2014!

Interviews/Videos
From the IMPAC Award longlist – Kirsty Gunn on her book The Big Music  via @youtube

Giveaways
Be in to win a lovely necklace with a real little book on it from Ex Libris Jewellery

NZ Listener has double passes to five spectacular NZ Festival events to give away. Click to enter the draw

School’s back so time for a kids’ #greatkiwiclassic giveaway from NZ Book Council! Two great prizes of kids’ books from @scholasticnz

Events
Just sent in my tix requests for the @NZFestival writers & readers. Spufford, @ElizabethKnoxNZ, Catton..so much good stuff!

Author/artist @SarahELaing will discuss how best to absorb a comic at the @NZFestival’s Reading for Readers seminar

Book News
And the winner of the NZSA Asian Short Story Competition is…

The Louis Johnston bursary applications close on 28 Feb … Keen writers apply now…

Latest issue of Auckland University Press Book News out now

Author of Misery Hill realises he inspired a Man Booker-winning book

From around the internet
Join @ConversationEDU and @GriffithREVIEW this week for a series of essays that take a fresh look at NZ

Can Crowdfunding Replace Artists’ Day Jobs?

This lady has taste … I’ve read a couple and agree – I must check the rest out!

Choose a poem for your valentine

Swoon-worthy bookstores

Worth a read – how Amazon used books to get to where they are now.

Why scholarly publishing matters.

Words of the Day: Wednesday, 29 January 2014

words_of_the_day_graphic

Follow us on Twitter to get this news as it happens: https://twitter.com/BooksellersNZ

Book reviews/previews
The Bright Side of My Condition by Charlotte Randall ‘a subtle and complex drama’

How to talk about books you haven’t read

“It is not the Gaza Strip, but Gazza whipping his shirt off.”

Events
Good news for No 1 Ladies Detective Agency fans (and the rest!)

Book News
The Luminaries shining too bright? Marcus Greville @ubsotago recommends these overshadowed masterpieces

Costa winner Nathan Filer is “very proud” to be a nurse and has a hospital shift in a few days’ time

Anna Hope talks about her research into the lives of the three main female characters in Wake

Eleanor Catton to be awarded honorary degree

Awards News
NZ Post Children’s Book Awards judge Ant Sang tells us a thing or two about illustrated books

From around the internet
Great idea from booksellers & librarians-Blind date with a book

Where to put the entrepreneur in publishing?

The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe was first published on this day in 1845!

Something to watch out for…


Oprah 2.0

A word for the day. For my fellow spelling Nazis

 

Words of the Day: Wednesday, 15 January

words_of_the_day_graphic

 

 

A summary of our twitter feed @BooksellersNZ. Follow us to get it live!

Book reviews
Booksellers NZ Book Review: Boats, and Trains, by Catherine Foreman

Creative Inspiration: Wearable Wonders by Fifi Colston. Review by Nikki Slade Robinson.

I Am Pilgrim is a cracking crime thriller”, says @SouthlandTimes. “It’s a big read but very much worth the effort.”

Giveaway
Save some money around the house with this @dstitutegourmet giveaway

Events
Help Te Papa transcribe 60 years worth of historical diaries by Horowhenua farmer & photographer Leslie Adkin

Book News
Fantastic opportunity for our awesome illustrators

The indie bookstore resurgance

Melbourne indie bookstore has expanded to become five stores ‘It made us strong’

@geckopress Here’s what we’ve been making lately! Our first four releases for 2014. We luuuuurve them.

@RHNZ Hot off the press! Our super talented designer Megan illustrated these cute children’s collections – out in March.

From around the internet
Publishing Perspectives’ 5 trends for trade publishing in 2014

(Vic Books blog post) A Bookish Canvas Bag Collection

Dom Post: Today’s short story, The boy who ate bugs, is by Avi Duckor-Jones. Enjoy. 

Bernard Beckett on what reading brings humanity @nzbookcouncil 

What books do you think have made you a ‘better person’ (and what, exactly, do you mean by ‘better’?)?

Live stream from the 6th World Summit on Arts & Culture   #artsummitchile

Radio New Zealand has an Eleanor Catton page.