Book Review: Stag Doo, by ‘Big Al’ Lester

cv-stag_dooAvailable now in bookshops nationwide.

Having grown up with male relatives who enjoyed hunting and fishing in the great New Zealand outdoors, I thought I’d enjoy this book. I did, but I think I’ve grown out of my youthful desire to be one of the boys..

‘Big Al’ Lester collects mates and their stories like a gumboot sock collects burrs. The stories are well told and I enjoyed them mainly for this reason. I have male friends now who love sharing tales of their derring-do in the wilderness, and this book would make a welcome gift, one to be read over a few beers, while reminiscing with like-minded mates. I don’t think many of the stories in the book have been too exaggerated in the telling. This makes for some head shaking moments as one reads, if the reader is someone who has never experienced such adventures in person. But even such a reader will enjoy the humour and eccentricity revealed as ‘Big Al’ encourages his mates to tell all. As he says in the epilogue- “the hills are full of hard case characters who are out there simply being themselves.” And one can identify with them to some extent because, like us, they’re human.

I enjoyed the photographs that were included, but I would have liked to see what some of the biggest ‘character’s looked like. And the book contains a glossary at the back which explains terms which may be unfamiliar to the townie. All in all, a good read for the hunter in your life who loves to laugh at the mishaps of his or her fellows.

Reviewed by Lesley Vlietstra

Stag Doo
by ‘Big Al’ Lester
Published by Penguin NZ
ISBN 9780143574064

Leave a Reply

