Book Review: Their Fractured Light, by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

‘An awesome ending to an epic trilogy.’

cv_their_fractured_lightTheir Fractured Light is an awesome ending to an epic trilogy. Co-authored by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner, this book follows the interconnected stories of Sophia and Gideon as they navigate their way through a world threatened by LaRoux Industries, the biggest and most powerful corporation in the world.

LaRoux Industries is growing and its leader has gone mad. He is now on the verge of driving the world into complete destruction with the only hope being a group of starstruck lovers and their army friends. Their Fractured Light is the final instalment of ‘The Starbound Trilogy’ and is a sparkling way to finish the series.

I loved the first two books in the series and so this book had a lot to live up to. It would have been easy to disappoint me, but if this book did one thing well, it was wrapping up the series in a way that was both believable and that made me happy. It took the two new protagonists Sophia and Gideon and weaved them perfectly into the stories of all the characters I knew and loved from the first two books. While it was amazing to meet up with these characters again, it did cause a slight issue plot-wise. Towards the final act of the book there were up to 5 characters, each taking their turns narrating the story. At times this got quite confusing, and I found myself flicking back to the beginning of the chapter to remind myself who was narrating. This wasn’t a problem for too much of the book though and really only took a little bit of getting used to.

Not only did it bring the previous main characters back into the story, but Their Fractured Light also brought back lots of side characters. Potentially too many. Now, don’t get me wrong, it was great encountering minor characters from the previous books and learning where they ended up. But sometimes it just felt like they were being re-introduced just to excite readers and not to progress the story. Having only read the last two books little over a month a month ago, I still found myself unable to remember some of the side characters that were re-introduced, so if you can I absolutely recommend having a re-read, before diving into this book.

The highlight of this book for me was definitely how the characters interacted with the ‘aliens’. This book, while being primarily marketed as a romance, has some amazing action sequences in it and has lots of important ideas surrounding life beyond earth and how humanity should deal with other forces. While the romance in this book was stellar as always, it was about so much more than that, which is where I think it beats the other books in the series.

Overall, I did enjoy this book, but the primary reason I did so was because of how it wrapped up the trilogy. Had this book been a stand-alone I’m not sure I would have enjoyed it as much as I did. I would highly recommend the book for fans of the first two books and the entire trilogy to anyone interested in sci-fi, romance or both! I look forward to seeing more from both authors of this book soon.

Book Review by Alyssa Hutton
Supplied as part of the Allen & Unwin Ambassador Programme

Their Fractured Light
by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
Published by Allen & Unwin Children’s
ISBN 9781743319710

Leave a Reply

