Office choice: Our mother’s day picks

A book is an obvious choice for a mother’s day gift, and where would we be, the Thursday before Mother’s Day, without a few recommendations.

Cherie Donovan, Association Manager

  1. What type of books does your mum read? Maeve cv_the_storytellerBinchy, my Mum enjoys reading from a wide variety of authors but always came back to her one favourite author.
  2. What was the last book you gave your mum that she really enjoyed? The Storyteller, by Jodi Picoult (Allen & Unwin) 9781743318690
  3. What do you think she might enjoy this Mother’s Day? Under the Wide and Starry Sky, by Nancy Horan (Two Road) 9781444778427

Megan Dunn, Projects Manager

  1. What type of books does your mum read? My Mum loves reading self help books.
    She is a very productive, positive person who enjoys affirmative messages and new ways of looking at the world.
  2. What was the last book you gave your mum that she really enjoyed? Gulp, I can’t remember. However the last book she gave me was A Book is A Book (Gecko Press) 9781877579929; a delightful story. She knows I worked as a bookseller for years and so she also paired this present with Weird Things Customers Say in cv_too_soon_old_too_late_smartBookstores, by Jen Campbell (Overlook Press) 9781468301281, which made me hoot with laughter.
  3. What do you think she might enjoy this Mother’s Day? I don’t know, but I better go over to Unity and have a look at the psychology section because there are not many days left to get her something. In fact she might enjoy Too Soon Old, Too Late Smart by Gordon Livingston (Hodder Headline) 9780733621482. The title sounds depressing but the book is actually warm, insightful and rather wonderful.

Sarah Forster, Web Editor 

  1. What type of books does your mum read?cv_the_luminaries_HB My Mum is a big crime fiction fan. She
    also enjoys historical fiction, and true crime non-fiction. If it comes with a conspiracy theory, all the better.
  2. What was the last book you gave your mum that she really enjoyed? She enjoyed The Luminaries, by Eleanor Catton when I passed on my copy last year. She also enjoyed The Casual Vacancy, by J K Rowling.
  3. What do you think she might enjoy this Mother’s Day? I have lost a bit of confidence in my book-buying, as she tossed Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn in the bin because it was too ridiculous. However, I might seek out a copy of The Collector, by Nora Roberts (Piatkus Books) 9780749959319 for her. (If my own family are reading this – I would like The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt)

Lincoln Gould, CEO 

  1. What type of books does your mum (wife) read? cv_the_secret_magdalene
    Literary novels
  2. What was the last book you gave your mum (wife) that she really enjoyed? Memories of My Melancholy Whores, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  3. What do you think she might enjoy this Mother’s Day? The Secret Magdalene, Ki Longfellow

Amie Lightbourne, Awards Manager

  1. What type of books does your mum read? My mother enjoys historical fiction andcv_the_game_of_kings whodunnits,
  2. What was the last book you gave your mum that she really enjoyed?  I gave my mother The Game of Kings, by Dorothy Dunnett (Penguin) 9780140282399, a swashbuckling authentic historical drama set in 1500’s Scotland.
  3. What do you think she might enjoy this Mother’s Day? I know she’s been interested in The Empress Dowager Cixi, by Jung Chang (Jonathon Cape Ltd) 9780224087445 which combines truth, history, and a wonderful cultural angle. She’d probably love that for Mother’s Day.
Leave a Reply

