Tuesday poem: YOUNG MAN TALKING TO HIS REFLECTION AFTER ONE YEAR IN AN INTIMATE RELATIONSHIP by Joan Fleming

In the warm house of her, mmm, I do think my nose looks a bit less broken. But I can never really know what my MIRROR FACE looks like, because I’m always making it. And I’m always forgetting something after love in the morning, forgetting my lunch or a water bottle, so I’m either hungry or thirsty or really full of something I haven’t yet named. My beard is getting long. And my hair, my stupid light hair that I never used to like, how light it is, like a head full of feathers that drifted into the bedroom of some foreign loveliness – and decided to stay.

From The Same as Yes (page 54) by Joan Fleming
Published by Victoria University Press
Used with the permission of Victoria University Press

This poem has been posted as part of the Tuesday Poem scheme

One thought on “Tuesday poem: YOUNG MAN TALKING TO HIS REFLECTION AFTER ONE YEAR IN AN INTIMATE RELATIONSHIP by Joan Fleming

  1. Hi Emma and Booksellers – Thank you so much for your commitment to Tuesday Poem on this, our second birthday, we really appreciate it, and we know the NZ poets you feature appreciate the support. Mary & Claire.

Leave a Reply

