Book review: Finders Keepers by Russ Colchamiro

Finders Keepers is a humorous Sci-Fi novel which places the reader in New Zealand, Europe and the highest levels of the Universe (aptly named Eternity). We follow the story of American Jason Medley and New Zealander Theo Barnes as they backpack their way across Europe while unkowingly being persued by ex-Galaxy designers who are determined to reacquire a lost jar containing a portion of the Universe’s DNA (aka Cosmic Building Material).

Sounds confusing?

Don’t worry. Author Russ Colchamiro cleverly ties all the plot threads together in his debut novel. The story bounces between characters, countries, dimensions and time. Fans of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and 2000 AD Futureshocks will be instantly familiar with the genre that the book fits into. The chapters are short and remind me of a graphic novel’s pacing.

The book is an enjoyable and funny read from an author who is obviously brimming with ideas.

Reviewed by Jonathan Shine of Scorpio Books, Christchurch.

Finders Keepers
by Russ Colchamiro
Published by Three Fingers Press
ISBN 9780979480171

Advertisements

One thought on “Book review: Finders Keepers by Russ Colchamiro

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s