Tuesday poem: Tight by Helen Heath

My mother folded
heavy blankets
into hospital corners
topped with candlewick.
At night I was pinned down
like a butterfly in a case.

Now we are hiding
from each other
but I’m the only one
playing the game.

Inside the wardrobe
I spy old wallpaper
and under the carpet
oiled floorboards.

Who’ll find me
now she’s gone –
knees by ears tight
breathing all of me?

By Helen Heath.
Published by Seraph Press in Watching for Smoke. And to be published by Victoria University Press in Graft (May 2012)
Used with the permission of Helen Heath.
This poem is part of the Tuesday Poem Scheme.

7 thoughts on “Tuesday poem: Tight by Helen Heath

  1. This is such a heartfelt poem – such simplicity belies such emotional depth. I’m really looking forward to Helen’s collection coming out, too – it’s on my ‘to buy’ list!

Leave a Reply

